• Profile picture of The Jock of Rock

    The Jock of Rock posted an update 1 week, 2 days ago

    RockChat Rewind with Joe Milliken
    On this day (July 11) in 1983, Robert Plant released “Principle of Moments,” his second solo album on the Atlantic (Es Paranza) record label titled “Principle of Moments.” Recorded at Rockfield Studios in Monmouth Wales and produced by Plant, Benj LeFevre and pat Moran, the album was a big success and Plant’s second solo album to hit the Top Ten in America and the UK.
    Plant’s early solo albums were a bit of a departure from Led Zeppelin’s hard rock sound, mixing in a more pop orientated and R & B vibe as well. The success of the album launched a very successful, year-long North American and UK tour.
    Genesis drummer, Phil Collins, played on six of the album’s eight tracks, with Jethro Tull drummer, Barriemore Barlow played on the other two tracks. Collins also did most of the tour with Plant, with Little Feat’s Richie Hayward also doing some shows at the end of the tour.
    “Principle of Moments” reached #8 on the Billboard album chart and #7 in the UK. The single “In The Mood” reached #11 on the Billboard Hot 100 singles’ chart, and the single “Other Arms” cracked the Top 40. Rhino Records released a remastered edition in 2007, and “Principle of Moments” has gone on to sell over two million copies worldwide.