• Profile picture of The Jock of Rock

    The Jock of Rock posted an update 1 week ago

    RockChat rewind with Joe Milliken.
    On this day (May 10) in 2011 The Cars released their seventh studio album, on the Hear Music/Concord Music Group label, titled “Move Like This.” Recorded at The Village Recorder in Los Angles and Millboork Sound Studio in Millbrook, New York, and produced by Jacknife Lee and The Cars, “Move Like This” was the first album recorded by the band since 1987’s “Door To Door” and the first without the late, bassist/vocalist Benjamin Orr, who passed away in 2000 from pancreatic cancer.
    Featuring Ric Ocasek on guitar and vocals, Greg Hawkes on keyboards and bass, David Robinson on drums and Elliot Easton on guitar, the band did not replace Orr with a new bass player for the recording, deciding to instead, have Hawkes and the producer, Lee, perform the bass parts. However, Hawkes did use one of Ben’s basses for the sessions.
    Much of the album was recorded at the home studio of engineer Paul Orofino, and David Robinson designed the cover art. Band leader, Ric Ocasek, performed all the lead vocals, and stated after the album’s release, “I was aware that on half of the new songs, Ben would have done better than I did. But we never wanted anybody from the outside.” Orr was also given special thanks in the album’s liner notes… “Ben, your spirit was with us on this one.”
    Upon its release, “Move Like This” debuted at #7 on the Billboard album chart, “Sad Song” was released as a single and climbed to #33 on Billboard’s “rock songs” chart, and the album generally received good reviews from the media and fans. The Cars did a short, 11-city tour to support the album, ending in Boston, where the band invited Orr’s son, Ben, to visit them backstage and see the show. A nice and fitting touch to end the tour.